Search the RDAA site:

World Equestrian Games

The World Equestrian Games, held every four years, are comprised of the world championships for eight equestrian sports:

  • Show jumping
  • Dressage
  • Eventing
  • Driving
  • Reining
  • Vaulting
  • Endurance
  • Para-equestrian

Sally Francis, Nicole Kullen & Mary Longden
[Photo: M. Goodrick]

The inaugural games were held in 1990 in Stockholm, Sweden, and have never taken place outside of Europe. The 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games in Kentucky will represent the largest equestrian sporting event ever held in the USA.

The Games are held every four years, two years prior to the Olympic Games.

RDAA riders successfully compete at these Games with one of our riders Nicole Kullen winning Silver and Bronze medals at the 2007 World Games. Nicole went on to be named ‘Horse Magazine 2007 Rider of the Year’!

RDAA will be sending a team to the 2010 FEI/HETI Equestrian Games in Kentucky after the 2008 Paralympic Games in Hong Kong.

The World Games are governed by the Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI/HETI). The FEI/HETI is the international governing body of equestrian sport recognized by the International Olympic Committee. It is the organization which establishes rules & regulations for the conduct of international equestrian events.

The FEI/HETI has over 130 member countries. Visit the official FEI/HETI website at

Grace Bowman